Smith And Wesson Forums banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey y'all, I'm new to pistol shooting and definitely new to revolvers. However, I just purchased some nice S/W revolvers from my father's lifelong friend who recently passed away in February of 2020. That man died with over 99 handguns on his Concealed Carry Permit and my brother, sister and I are now the proud owners of 8 of those handguns and 2 rifles. Of the 8 handguns we purchased at his auction, 3 of them were S/W revolvers and I also purchased a M&P shield 9mm (NIB) in September of 2020 from a local shop here in town.

Now the revolvers in question are a Model 36 - Serial #14192 and a Model 15-2 - Serial #85827, I'm pretty sure the answer is yes, but can these guns fire the Plus P rounds?

The reason I guessed yes was because the man we bought these guns off of reloaded 38 special ammo, in the ammo I won he had a ton of Plus P PMJ rounds, I just wanted to be sure I could shoot it. He also had a bag of maybe 30 or so Western Loads and some 38 shorts? WTF are those and what the hell do I do with them?

We also won the 38 special Bodyguard with the Laser; man, I hope that laser is adjustable. However that gun literally says Plus P on the barrel and the 4th s&w we have was one my dad gave my sister, an old Police Issue 38 special and I'm pretty sure that can shoot the Plus P as well.

In closing, I was just wondering if anyone was a S/W aficionado and might be able to give me some insight on my recent purchases I enclosed some pictures as well.

·
Registered
15,310 Posts
Welcome to the forum. Love that m15 snubby! I believe S&W says that all model marked revolvers are able to handle plus P ammunition. The Plus P designation did not come about until about 1971, so guns made before that will not be marked as Plus P capable, but they are. That being said, I would shoot standard pressure as much as possible to avoid undue wear on the guns

·
Super Moderator
11,419 Posts