Smith And Wesson Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts
G

·
Guest
Joined
·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
At the CCW class I just attended the instructor informed us that it normally takes around 5 weeks to get your permit after sending in the information. I have heard from many that the wait is far longer then 5 weeks though. A friend of mine sent his in Oct. and just got it last week. From what I've heard, everyone's is taking longer then normal. Just curious as to why.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,055 Posts
Paperwork.........

That coupled with the fact that a lot of people are freaked out about the current administration and trying to get their permit while the can.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
1,648 Posts
It also depends on were you live. Here in NH it is 10 dollars and 2 weeks. :-??
 
G

·
Guest
Joined
·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Good Lord!
Lets see...
Class-$40
Finger Prints-$5
Picture-$9
Range-$10
Ammo-$15
State Fee-$117
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
27 Posts
Varies by state and county I think. In SC it is taking 75+ days. Same in FL for out-of-staters. I heard that in GA (maybe just in Cobb County, not sure) new law requires municipalty to issue them in 45 days.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
600 Posts
That is pretty common and a cheap price. The last time I got my Texas permit it was $125 for the class and $140 for the state. I took the class on the 1st and my permit says it was issued on the 11th, but I did not get it in the mail until two months later.
 
G

·
Guest
Joined
·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
I had assumed that the reason behind the long wait was the mass increase in people applying for permits. I was just curious if there was any other reason. The cost or strictness for CCW that we have in Florida doesn't bother me though. Because of it our CCW shares reciprocity with 31 other states so when visiting family out of state I'm covered. I guess I'm just an impatient person.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2 Posts
I got lucky when I moved to Jackson County in Georgia with a Mississippi CCW. When I showed them my CCW at the courthouse, they charged me $15 and did my background check while I waited. Had my Georgia CCW 45 minutes later.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
1,648 Posts
Forester said:
Daveht said:
It also depends on were you live. Here in NH it is 10 dollars and 2 weeks. :-??
By state statute! It's the law, don't ya know. :D :mrgreen:
No I did not know that! I am a newbie here!! :-o
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
1,648 Posts
Been here 3 years now. Yes I am from Ma.
 
1 - 15 of 15 Posts
Top