Smith And Wesson Forums banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
214 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So this is a real general question that’s been on my mind a little. I’m new to S&W revolvers but I’ve owned a number of different guns and none of them have caught on with me in the same way as these have. I liked a few a lot like an hk45, a couple 1911s but I always ended up selling them for the next bright shiny thing. But I really want to hang onto my S&Ws. I’m 31 so it’s not a nostalgic thing for me, although I do like the history of them and the old school cool factor. I don’t know enough about em to pop them open and work on them like I can with a 1911 or other autoloaders but honestly I don’t feel like they really need upgrades or tinkering. I’m perfectly happy with them as they came. I love the mechanics of them and how at the same time they’re simple and complex. Aesthetically a lot of them are very similar but that doesn’t stop me from wanting different dash 19s or a bunch of N frames in different calibers. I can’t put my finger on why they’re so cool to me but I love the ones I have and can’t wait to build my collection. So I was curious what makes them special to other members or what got them interested in these revolvers?

·
Registered
9,139 Posts
Growing up the Smith was the epitome of what a gun should look like, Colt had it too.

Thewelshm

·
Registered
6,323 Posts
Back when I started in LE, I couldn't afford a Python so I settled for S&Ws. I got to where I liked S&Ws just fine, in fact better than Colt's. 50 years later, I still can't afford or won't pay the price for Colt's..

·
Registered
4,002 Posts
I shoot them better. That's what got me into S&W.
Colt, Ruger etc just feel weird.
For me ,after Smiths, CZ feels the most natural.

·
Registered
1,627 Posts
What’s not to like ... LOL

I mostly have vintage S&Ws. For me it’s the quality, style and feel.

·
Registered
1,707 Posts
GREAT question!