Smith And Wesson Forums banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone! I'm new to posting here but I really need some help with estimating the value of a S&W 19-5 Diplomatic Issue .357. It has the 2.5" barrel, pachymar grips, and the rest of indicators that it is indeed a US Diplomat Issued revolver. The serial number is ANN8xxx. I'm new to gun collecting and would like to know any info in the revolver that isn't on the Wiki page. I heard there were only 335 of them produced? That number seems awfully low, but it has the blue/black matte finish, 2.5" barrel, pachymar grips and matches pics of the revolver. Any help with estimating value would be great bc I really would like to sell the revolver to put some money in my pocket and purchase something else (as much as I love this piece, I am in a little financial trouble due to CoVid. Thank you guys and any advice and help offered would be greatly appreciated! I wanted to post more pics but am having trouble uploading them...
Regards,
Brian

IMG_20200604_152339149.jpg

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
A regular 19-5 like that goes for about $650. I suppose there is a premium for the diplomatic issue guns but I dont know how much it would be.
Thanks for the reply...I appreciate it. I saw over on Salt Lake Arms website, the same revolver was $1650...but it was NIB...I'm trying to get a feel for what I can get for mine and reading other discussions, collectors that do want this type, style, and background revolver are willing to pay a premium bc of its history and rareness (only 335 shipped to the Diplomatic Embassies. Thank you for your input, I appreciate it!

·
Registered
13,485 Posts