Smith And Wesson Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Premium Member
10,779 Posts
I'm not sure I've seen NFA stuff (suppressors or otherwise) discussed here very often.

We have a local dealer that's an expert on these, but I've really never looked into them. He's got a wide range of them, a kiosk for automating the paperwork and a number in limbo awaiting the NFA processing.

For handguns, he typically recommends buying one that can adapt to multiple calibers, but I expect high power rifle would require something just for that round.

·
Registered
3,158 Posts
I have two AAC suppressors. A 5.56 quick detach, and a direct thread .22 suppressor. I like them, but can’t say I have a lot of knowledge outside of those two. I am currently toying with a SilencerCo for my .300 Blackout. I am undecided on the titanium vs. steel thing.

Your post doesn’t indicate your experience with suppressors so, they are still loud enough to ring your ears with super sonic loads if you are not outside in a very open environment. I also can’t say that they helped accuracy. I believe the .22 suppressor hurt it. Especially on my .22/45 lite Ruger with the tensioned barrel.

·
Premium Member
6,806 Posts
It's difficult to make an intelligent recommendation absent any criteria from you.

There are a lot of choices. Is your priority a dedicated 30cal can being the quietest without any considerations to weight or size? Do you want a 30cal can that is more usable on other calibers like 5.56 preferring a smaller lighter can at the expense of a bit lower sound suppression? Is budget a consideration... on and on and on.

The OP is like... I have a pickup truck. What are the best tires for it? But no mention you live in Los Angeles and its just a street truck, or live in woods and do a lot of 4wd back road driving, or looking for mud & snow tires... or or or.