that celebrate the sporting life and great outdoors

An essay excerpted from
Hunting and the Ivory Tower:
Essays by Scholars Who Hunt

Edited by Doug Higbee and David Bruzina
Essay by Robert DeMott

“[Hunting] certainly makes life less highfalutin and more real.”
– T. H. White, England Have My Bones

Fifty years ago, during my first semester as a graduate student, I enrolled in a seminar on William Faulkner, a writer I’d heard of but never before encountered on the page. I’d heard that he was a difficult and demanding technician whose prose was convoluted, intricate, even impenetrable, and that it represented the zenith of American literary modernism, which is to say patently aesthetic and rarefied. I considered myself an average reader in skill, insight and dexterity, so I feared I would be in for a trying time, given Faulkner’s avant-garde stylistic difficulties. But I also heard that Faulkner had a reputation as a drunk, a bounder and, as if it were the final condemnatory nail in his coffin, a hunter. Faulkner, the gossip went, was not in the take-no-prisoners category of He-Man Hemingway, but he was a hunter nonetheless, and that was enough for many of my seminar mates to cast a cold eye.