Smith And Wesson Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I don't no much about these revolvers is the Smith & Wesson 38 Special it seems to be model number 61905 I'm trying to figure out what exactly it is when it was made how rare it is the serial number is 429874. There's so many comments and replies and stuff on these types of pistols online I'd like to know more precise on when it was made it's also on top of the barrel got Smith & Wesson Springfield Massachusetts USA patented October 8,01 ,December 17,01 ,February 8,08 ,Sept 14,09 ,Dec 9,14 . Really kind of unsure what those numbers stand for but I'll send pictures of the gun in general I've polished it was a little bit of metal polish not too much not too hard just to see what happened and well here's the results please any insight cuz be very appreciated right now cuz I have no one knowledge it is whatsoever thank you respectfully
Revolver Wood Trigger Air gun Gun accessory
Revolver Musical instrument Shotgun Wood Art
Material property Red Gas Household hardware Metal

·
Premium Member
22,730 Posts
Welcome to the forums from the Wiregrass! You have a .38 Military & Police, Model 1905, 4th Change from around 1923. The mother-of-pearl grips are aftermarket. Value is around $400-500. The nickel plate can be polished with Flitz, Mother's Mag or other metal polish.

·
Registered
23,455 Posts
Welcome to the forums from the Wiregrass! You have a .38 Military & Police, Model 1905, 4th Change from around 1923. The mother-of-pearl grips are aftermarket. Value is around $400-500. The nickel plate can be polished with Flitz, Mother's Mag or other metal polish.
Just be sure to remove the furniture first.

·
Registered
10,345 Posts
Welcome to the forum - that's a really sweet find!

Don't try to polish it too much - you may remove the patina and aging that adds to its value. I use Flitz for mine, the finest grit they have.