Smith And Wesson Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone,

This is my first post. I'm a retired police officer. When I retired, I purchased my model 5906 service pistol. I had heard that Smith and Wesson had a great reputation in honoring it's "Lifetime" warranty on pistols purchased from police departments by police officers. I received a notice from Smith and Wesson that my pistol needs an extractor, extractor spring, and ejector depressor. The total cost would be $165 and change. My department charged me less than that to purchase the pistol when I retired. Also, my department has first right of refusal to purchase the pistol, should I ever desire to sell it. They don't ever want the weapon back on the streets. I'm disappointed, to say the least, that Smith and Wesson sent me a bill for the repairs. I called S&W this morning and was told it's the individual gunsmith's call, and there was no other recourse for me. Does anyone have any advice or a contact at Smith and Wesson? If I choose not to have the repairs done, Smith and Wesson will charge a $45 diagnostic fee to ship the weapon back to me.

Thanks!

·
Premium Member
12,660 Posts
The current Smith and Wesson warranty is online at:

https://www.smith-wesson.com/customer-service/warranty

It says it applies to the original purchaser. I do know that they have dealt with design and manufacturing defects without charge, but expect that wear issues for a secondary buyer of a used gun may not be covered in most cases.

The 5906 is a discontinued design, and parts will not always be available for it in the future. It's worth more today than you paid for it, as is the labor of a skilled gunsmith.