Smith And Wesson Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
1,707 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Friend was over yesterday to BS and so I could shot some pix of guns he wants to sell and we got into the discussion of single action practice with DA revolvers. Got me wondering .. if you don't hunt ... do you spend any time practicing single action with your Double action gun and if so .. what scenario do you see it being useful?

I have about 1500 rds through my GP100 and about another 800 through my 686 and I dont think I have fired single action 5 times.

·
Registered
5,328 Posts
I have been shooting various firearms since I was 12 years old. I've bee shooting pistols since 1980. The overwhelming vast majority of rounds I've fired from handguns have been single-action. Simple reason why. I like hitting things I shoot at. From up close to right on out to the next zip code, I like hitting things. Single-action allows me to get the very best possible result on target.

Now when I am fooling around drawing and firing, etc., I shoot double-action. When preparing for a police type match I of course practice double-action. Over the years I've gotten where I can with care shoot double-action groups of around 3-4 inches using my beloved six inch 686. Using my four inch 15-4 or 66-2, groups are more around 4-5 inches. Back when I was doing a lot of double-action shooting, I could stay between 2-3 inches.

Mostly when I go to the range, I like to shoot at targets that are a bit far out. I like shooting at harrow blades, cans, etc. out in a cleared field. Hitting a harrow blade at 100 yds. with a revolver is fun. Any kind of decent .38 or .357 will do the job. In fact, I bought a little 18-3 in 2000 through which I have shot a [wheel barrow load of ammunition. Once you learn where to hold, that little revolver will really get things done way on out.