Smith And Wesson Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hello Everyone, I'm new to S&W Forums. I just acquired my first S&W revolver and I have some questions about it. I have attached photos. I hear that you all like photos. S&W was able to tell me that it was a Victory Model manufactured in 1943. It appears to have had the barrel shortened. Not really sure of the cartridge 38 S&W CTG, 38/200 or retooled to 38 special. Their are some extra stampings on the gun. I tried to get them clear in the pictures. Any help with info on it would be great. Also looking for original walnut replacement grips. Any suggestions?

20130709_154440.jpg 20130709_154516.jpg 20130709_154552.jpg 20130709_155036.jpg 20130709_163628.jpg

Thanks,

Dave :bluelogo:

·
Premium Member
19,958 Posts
welcome01 to the forums from the Wiregrass! And, +1 for posting pictures!! Yes, that is a modified Victory British model .38/200. It appears that your cylinder has been reamed to accept .38 SPCL cartridges. I see two shoulders. The first one is for the .38/200 and second for the .38 SPCL. I can't tell you much about the stampings. The ones on the barrel are for the cartridge: .38 S&W .767". There's probably a nitro tonnage somewhere there but I can't make it out.

Reactions: mmitch

·
Registered
6,671 Posts