Smith And Wesson Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I saw a S&W revolver in a shop today that caught my eye. Something was odd about it and I'm curious.

It was a small framed revolver, nickel plated, blonde walnut grips. Immediately upon seeing it I thought that's a .32, it was such a small framed revolver. But when I looked at the store tag, it was labeled as a Model 33 in .38 Special. I thought no way, the cylinder is obviously too short to be a .38 Special. So I inspected the gun and sure enough, the barrel is stamped "38 S&W SPECIAL CTG."

So I asked the staff about it. It took a minute to convince them I wasn't a complete novice. I had them place it side by side with a true .38 Special . Clearly the cylinder was shorter. So they found a .38 Special round and, sure enough, it was too long for the cylinder. It wouldn't even go completely into the cylinder by close to a quarter inch before jamming.

I had already concluded that it is likely an older .38 S&W gun. But they didn't have any of that ammo to test it, so I am not absolutely certain. But I'm perplexed as to the marking on the barrel indicating it is a .38 Special.

There is no model number marking that I could find. Which leads me to conclude it's likely an older S&W Regulation Police revolver. The Blue Book says it was only made in .38 S&W. I neglected to get the serial number.

One other oddity. The cylinder release button does not look original. In fact, it doesn't even look like a S&W part. It's not shaped correctly and instead of a diamond pattern cut for friction as typical of S&W, the cuts are parallel lines. If I had to guess, I'd say it has been re-nickeled at some point because the markings aren't quite as sharp as they should be.

Any idea on the inconsistency between the chambering and the barrel markings? Any insights are appreciated.

·
Registered
8,187 Posts