Smith And Wesson Forums banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have here what I believe to be a pair of original Military & Police 1905 pistols in excellent condition. I have very little knowledge of value, however, considering the SUPER nice condition they're in and the fact that they are a matched pair with consecutive serial numbers. Serial numbers are C66xxx. I know the grips are incorrect; they should be checkered walnut (I will gladly find two pairs if they'll significantly affect the value of the pair of revolvers). What is the significance of the "C" in the serial number? What is the approximate value of the set? Both HAVE been fired, but VERY, VERY few times. These have been safe queens the VAST majority of their 115 year lives, and it shows. They polish up absolutely beautifully.

I thank everyone greatly in advance for any input and information you may have about these beauties!

Todd

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Very Nice! The C series marked the beginning of the 3rd million of the M&P's being produced. Your revolvers were made after the end of WW2. I dont have my reference handy but I would guess 48-49
I appreciate your input! I guess I was hoping they were the TRUE originals with that low of serial numbers, but had never considered the possibility that the C indicated the beginning of the third million of production.... So, not NEARLY as old as I had thought....... Any idea of value? Thanks again!!!

·
Registered
8,207 Posts
Reactions: OutdoorsAndMore

·
Premium Member
20,736 Posts