Smith And Wesson Forums banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

· Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,
I have an opportunity to purchase up to 3 revolvers from a gentleman that is thinning his collection.
I have no experience with these older models and would appreciate advice on value/collectability and practicality of shooting them.
The first one is a 38/44 Heavy Duty.
Historical letter states it is a pre-war variation 38 S&W Special.
Shipped from the factory on October 15, 1940 . It came with 5" barrel, blue finish, butt swivel and checkered silver medallion magna grips.
Revolver Trigger Air gun Gun barrel Wood
Revolver Air gun Trigger Gun barrel Gun accessory

The second revolver is according to the Historical letter a .455 Hand Ejector First Model (Triple Lock). A British Gov't contract .455 Webley. It was shipped on January 14, 1915 to Remington Arms - Union Metallic Cartridge Co. In New York. It was shipped with a 6.5" barrel, blue finish, butt swivel and checkered gold medallion grips.
Revolver Air gun Trigger Gun barrel Gun accessory
Revolver Trigger Air gun Gun barrel Gun accessory

The third revolver is the same as the second. I have no pictures of it but it is the same configuration. It is also in much better condition. There is also no Historical letter for this gun but it is only about 70 numbers later, so around the same date I should think.

· Premium Member
23,154 Posts
Those are some interesting N frames. I guestimate the .38/44 at $1400 if the stocks number to the gun and it has not been reamed for .357 Magnum. The 2 .455 BSR's are around $1200 each if they haven't been modified for .45 Colt or .45 ACP and the stocks number to the gun.

· Premium Member
23,154 Posts
I thought the triple locks might value a little higher due to low production numbers.
Do being British contact lessen their appeal?
All things equal, would .44 specials be more desirable (valuable)?