1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok, this is for the S&W experts and investigators. First, I have
a M64 (no dash) 4" that has a pinned barrel, but no recessed
cylinders, serial # D5042XX. I also have a M28-2 6" that has
recessed cylinders and a non-pinned barrel, serial # N9541XX.
Last, but not least I have a M27-2 6" that has both R&P
serial N4629XX. Thanks in advance. ihfnlllllq

·
Registered
20,193 Posts
On .38 spl. revolvers, they may be pinned, but no .38's were recessed, only .357 Mag revolvers. The older .357 revolvers were pinned and recessed, but S&W stopped both in 1981. Newer .357 revolvers are not pinned or recessed. Hope thjis helps. Bob

·
Registered
1,058 Posts
Trex,

I am no expert, but I can handle a couple of these. First off, only guns chambered in magnum calibers were recessed (except .22s of course.) Your model 64 is chambered in .38. None of the .38's were recessed.

This also explains why your 27-2 has both...it is chambered in .357 magnum.

Finally, your 28-2 should have both but that serial number is a very late number and perhaps is it a transition gun toward the 28-3. In both the 27 and 28's when the engineering change went from -2 to -3, the P&R were dropped.

Hope that helps.

P.S. Bob beat me to it...

·
Registered
20,193 Posts
Cush, It's OK in my book! ;) Your 2nd opinions reinforce what I said. It's always good to have back-up. :lol: Bob

·
Registered
2,340 Posts
Cush said:
... First off, only guns chambered in magnum calibers were recessed (except .22s of course.) ...
If I had a snubby model 10 with a recessed cylinder would it be an anomaly? I think I've got one, but can't check until I visit my Dad next week. I know it's pinned. The gun lives in his nighstand...

·
Registered
20,193 Posts
A recessed M-10 would be an anomoly. Are you sure that you don't have a M-13? That is a .357 revolver that does resemble a M-10. Bob

·
Registered
2,340 Posts
Bob K said: