Smith And Wesson Forums banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Howdy! Newbie here. I started my search several days ago to try to determine approximate age of my S&W .38 M&P...Eventually I ended up here and joined a bit ago. I've only seen a couple references to guns with numbers only and their relative possible age. I think the oldest was six numbers starting with "4". I have a five number s/n with matches on the butt, cylinder and barrel flat. that number is a 374xx. All the more common features on the gun itself - swing out cylinder, 6-shot capacity, tapered 4" barrel, half-moon front sight/fixed rear sight, S&W logo on the right side. Non original (ie rubber) grips. any ideas on age would be appreciated. I bought it in '98 from a gun shop in the state - mostly at the time for rattlers and rats with cci shot shells, which have performed excellently.
Thanks for any help!

·
Registered
8,182 Posts
Model of 1902 1st change. Made in the 1903-04 timeframe

·
Premium Member
20,721 Posts
Welcome to the forums from the Wiregrass! Does the caliber marking on the barrel include U.S. Service CTG? Is it a round butt? If not, as Jonesy says, there must be a letter in front of the serial number...like C or D. It may be separated from the numbers.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Thanks all!...No letter, and I see the same serial number as mentioned in three different places. I thought it was approaching the century mark. Here are pics that might help...since I'm also not clear on the butt. THANKS AGAIN.

·
Premium Member
20,721 Posts
All I can say is it has a letter in front of the number part of the serial. Your extractor rod is post WWII+ and the front sight is late 1940s to mid-1950's. It has to have a C prefix. Show us pictures of the complete gun and take off the grip clip and post a picture of the serial number.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
Model of 1902 1st change. Made in the 1903-04 timeframe