Smith And Wesson Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi all. I was looking for powder suggestions for reloading .40 cal S&W ammo. I have a S&W Model 410 semi automatic. I am new to reloading, and am not looking to experiment for some high performance ammo. I just want a nice load that will work in my gun, (not go Kaboom especially) that I can target practice with and get use to my gun. This is my first handgun, and I want to get into shooting more. Lee's recipe book has "Longshot" powder as the first choice and I just wanted some suggestions from folks that have done this before. Here are the other variables.

165gr Berry Prefered plated bullets
Range brass (most once fired from my gun)
A friends Lee's Pro 1000 press

Thanks.

·
Super Moderator
19,324 Posts
Accurate #7 would be a sound choice. Here's teh company profile of it.

Accurate No. 7 is an intermediate burning, double-base, spherical powder suitable for a wide range of handgun calibers. No. 7 is an excellent choice for high performance semi-auto handguns such as the 357 Sig, 38 Super, and 40 S&W. No. 7 is also a cost effective solution in larger magnum handgun calibers. Made in the USA.

It's the powder I have for my .40 pistol loads.

I'm certain otheres will chime in with their preferences too.

Regards,
Gearchecker

Reactions: Rcope822

·
Registered
8,899 Posts
I have had good performance using Alliant "Power Pistol" in my 40 S&W reloads. In fact I use the Rainier Plated 165 grain bullets in my target/range loads.

Here is a Link: Alliant Powder - Power Pistol

·
Super Moderator
10,842 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #5