Smith And Wesson Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Y'all,

So I just bought a PC Shield EZ 380 and 2 x Shield EZ 380's and had ordered some Underwood Extreme Defender rounds from an online store. Well my order was delivered but they ended up sending me the Underwood Extreme Penetrator +P rounds instead of the Defenders because they were out of defender rounds...

My question, can the PC Shield EZ 380 or the regular Shield EZ 380 handle these Penetrator +P rounds or am I better off trying to send them back for a refund? Or even just keeping them for possible future use since ammo is so hard to find now?

I'm a total newb with handguns and ammo so any insight would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks!

·
Registered
3,937 Posts
Did you read the manual? Here's what it says.:

“Plus-P” (+P) ammunition generates pressures in excess of the pressures associated with standard ammunition. Such pressures may affect the wear characteristics and may result in the need for more frequent service."

Underwood makes great stuff, but "hot" doesn't begin to describe it.
Do yourself a favor, get some cheap .380 ball ammo and save the Underwood stuff for later.

try ammoseek.com

Reactions: mrerick

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Did you read the manual? Here's what it says.:

“Plus-P” (+P) ammunition generates pressures in excess of the pressures associated with standard ammunition. Such pressures may affect the wear characteristics and may result in the need for more frequent service."

Underwood makes great stuff, but "hot" doesn't begin to describe it.
Do yourself a favor, get some cheap .380 ball ammo and save the Underwood stuff for later.

try ammoseek.com
Thanks, I guess my curiosity is if it's dangerous to use +P since it will only be for SD use and that's it. Not range use or non-SD use, I have regular FMJ rounds for practice shooting with.