Smith And Wesson Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
412 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Good morning everyone,

I stopped by a very small gun shop, in a neighboring town yesterday, to pick up a K-11 Swiss that I had recently ordered from Simpsons LTD.

Out of the 6 or 7 guns in the display case there was a K-22, with a 6 inch barrel. This is an older one, with no model number in the inside of the frame, so I am guessing pre 1956 right?

Pretty nice blue, but I am no expert, so I am going to say an easy 85 to 90 % blue, slight turn line, and some edge wear, but over all very presentable. It has the standard hammer, and trigger, and also looks to be original, but the lighting in his store is not real great.
Now for the bad part... This gun has some sort of ugly good year style grips on it, with two Phillips screws through them. They dont feel bad, but the screws looked like hell, and resembled some thing from an erector set.

Its a consignment gun, and the guy wants $635.00 for it, and he didnt think the owner would take any less.
I did not get the serial number, and the ugly grips covered it up. I did notice there was a number on the cylinder, but it was small and with the poor light conditions, I could not read it.

So what do you think its worth? Also I am guessing it should have the Diamond style grips on it to be correct, right?
These grips would probably cost another $75 bucks? I'm guessing? I have a set or two of the later style grips that I could put on until the right grips came along...

Also I notice there was one chamber that showed a small ding. Possible dry fired some time? The rest of them seemed ok..

I time allows today, I may call and see if I an get the serial number, from the shop owner.

BES

·
Registered
26,098 Posts
I am considering the same situation on a 586-1 with Pachmayrs. Widow has her prices set and won't budge. Grips will be more than $75 I believe, especially if - in your case - you want period correct ones.

·
Registered