Smith And Wesson Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Guys (and gals), I've shot Smiths since I was a young cop and that's been a long time ago (1957 through 1979). We knew them as Combat Masterpieces, Highway Patrolman, Chiefs Special, stuff like that. So what the hell is a pinned barrel v. a non-pinned barrel, and what does "dash" mean? I own a Model 60 Stainless j-frame w/1 7/8" barrel and am considering trading it for a Model 60 Stainless .357 3" barrel NIB. But this pinned barrel and dash stuff mystifies me. I looked at my barrel where it fits into the frame and there is no pin I can see, so maybe it's not a pinned model.

·
Registered
2,677 Posts
In 1982 smith and wesson stopped pinning there barrels and recessing there cylinders.The pinned barrels screwed in and had a small pin to keep them in place. The cylinders were recesssed where the rim of the caseing would be flush with the rear of the cylinder face. Both of these things were costly to do and were dropped for pressed in barrels and the rims on ammo had long become a lot stronger and the recess was no longer needed.
The names for the revolvers were replaced with model numbers in 1957. Like the high way patrol became the model 28 etc.Once the new model numbers were assighned if smith and wesson changed or dropped some thing on the gun they would had a dash number for the change.

·
Registered
4,218 Posts
Hi jeremiahjj.

Welcome to the forum. welcome01