Smith And Wesson Forums banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
(I am relatively new to S&W and brand new to this forum, please forgive me if I expose myself as being ignorant of something that all S&W collectors know)

A little history:
My dad was an avid Model 70 Winchester collector and had some fantastic 70s that apparently were the real deal in terms of rarity (I remember he so excited when he bought a nice "clover tang"). He also had pistols and revolvers that he didn't talk much about.

That brings me to the subject of this post. Dad passed in 2009 and he left the whole collection to me. I recently started combing through the pistols and revolvers as I was curious about the value of the lot, and was thinking of selling some or all. I sacked them up and went to gun store. Several of the guns are nice (Browning HP, old Policia Federal Colt 1911) and some of it is junk, but one particular gun caught the eye of the gun store manager. The particular gun was one that I knew to be a .357 Magnum and I had fired it at the range (really loved it). I remember thinking it was odd that it had no model name or number.

The manager spent at least 20 minutes looking at it with some of his compadres and looking stuff up on the internet and digging out some reference book. They showed me all about it and showed me the book. They said it quite possibly was an actual a Registered Magnum, but they also said that that the RMs were subject to being faked. They wouldn't give me a price on the gun and told me to pay for the history research that is availble from S&W. I left the gun shop with a whole new hobby: learning what the heck a Registered Magnum actually is. In the last few days I have read a ton of information regarding RMs.

So, I am going to send in the form to Mr. Roy Jinks at S&W. While I wait for the response I was curious if any of you know if there are any dead-giveaways that would spot it as a fake?

Thanks for the help.
Patrick

·