Smith And Wesson Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
49 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Okay.. help me out here. I'm not a newbie to firearms by any stretch, but until lately, I haven't paid all that much attention to model numbers.

At the risk of sounding like an idiot... WTH does "no dash" refer to? A dash between mdl and the #? Somewhere else?

·
Registered
19,992 Posts
Yes, means it is the first version of a particular model. I have a 17-4, which means it is a model 17, 4th revision. Certain versions seem to demand higher prices than others, depending on what the change was.

Reactions: mjn and Curt360

·
Premium Member
2,613 Posts
I've got a couple of "no dash" guns. I didn't buy them because they were "no dash," it just happened that they were. For all practical purposes, it doesn't make a lot of difference to the user. I've also never even seen that a particular "dash number" made much difference in the price. Condition, condition, condition. Now to someone working on a gun, it can be important. You might need a different part for a -4, than you for a "no dash" depending on what was changed. For example one of the changes made, and I'm not a expert so I'm not sure when it was made was a change from left to right hand threads on the ejector rod. That's a big change since the threads are easily damaged.

What a dash number also does is give you a rough idea of when a gun was made. Not so much by the year, but for example you'll know a "no dash" is older than a -1 and so on. Generally speaking "no dash" guns just have the Model number stamped on the inside of the yoke, but I have seen -0 guns on a couple of occasions.

Reactions: mjn and Curt360

·
Registered
19,992 Posts
I've also never even seen that a particular "dash number" made much difference in the price