Smith And Wesson Forums banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Newbie: Why is my S&W M&P Shield referred to as a Luger? Should I use 9mm Luger ammo

Hi everyone! I am new to shooting 9mms (started shooting just this past spring on 22s), I just ordered a S&W M&P Performance Center 9mm which I will get this weekend. I see that it is referred to as Luger. Should I use Luger 9mm ammo in it? When I googled Luger ammo, there was a picture of regular 9mm ammo and Luger 9mm ammo. The Luger ammo cartridge is tapered and the regular 9mm is straight cylindrical. Here is a link to that image:

The difference between 9mm Luger and 9mm Auto - and why you may have feed problems

What should I use in my new pistol?

(Yikes 9mm ammo is pricey compared to 22mm! I may have to get a day job LOL)

Thanks so much!

·
Registered
15,955 Posts
It's pretty much the same round. I shoot the same round in my Luger as I do in my Sig 228, no problems.

·
Registered
5,080 Posts
9x19mm, 9mm Luger, 9mm Parabellum, or 9mm NATO, it's the same. Your new M&P should be fine with all the naming conventions.

Now, you get to decide what brand, bullet weight & configuration you want for a self defense round.

:eek:

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thanks! Ok then - I'll try my hubby's ammo for now - he bought bulk 9mm a while ago for his CCP & VP9 pistols that seems to work well for him. Appreciate your detailed reply and all other replies!

·
Registered
23,435 Posts
Welcome to the forum, the above information is correct. By the way .22 ammo is caliber not mm (millimeter), caliber refers to bullet diameter - there are 100 caliber per inch. .22 caliber is 22/100", .45 = 45/100", .50 = 50/100" (or 1/2"), etc.. Metric ammo used in European designed ammo also measures diameter but in millimeters (mm). Don't be bashful, there's lots of good, friendly, helpful folks here.

·
Premium Member
12,670 Posts