Smith And Wesson Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Greetings Gun Guys -

I recently bought a model 28-2, circa '75-'77, that seems to be in great shape.

I am new to revolvers, which also means I am new to magnum cartridges...

Any loads I should avoid given the age of the gun? Or does this 40ish oz N-frame handle anything you throw at it?

Thanks!

·
Premium Member
2,781 Posts
The N-Frame that the M28-2 is built on, is also the same platform that the M29-2 .44 Magnum is built on, and that should give you an idea about what your 28-2 is capable of digesting... a lot.

·
Registered
5,164 Posts
Congratulations. The Model 28 is outstanding. Any factory level or handload that follows accepted reloading norms will be fine. Must say, if you choose to try stuff using inappropriate powders, etc., all bets are off. Just a word to the wise. Sincerely. bruce.

·
Registered
66 Posts
Congrats on discovering a fine revolver! I had a chance to snag a 28-2 last year but passed because the price was too high for condition. The grip panels were chipped and the bluing was practically worn off the muzzle. When you can, post up pics so we can drool. ;)

·
Registered
20,489 Posts
Congrats on obtaining a S&W classic! It will handle just about any type of .357 round and some that people wouldn't shoot in anything but an N frame revolver. Enjoy.:cool:

·
Registered
16,623 Posts
JUst manufactured loads or reloads by the book. If I want to go hot I use my Ruger Blackhawks and the Henry. It will make you look like a pro. The 28-2 is only limited by your ability. Enjoy it.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
Congrats on discovering a fine revolver! I had a chance to snag a 28-2 last year but passed because the price was too high for condition. The grip panels were chipped and the bluing was practically worn off the muzzle. When you can, post up pics so we can drool.
She's in pretty good shape, snagged for a great deal too...