Smith And Wesson Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey there. Just purchased my first handgun the M&P M2.0 9mm 4" Compact. I'm researching holsters and since I'm new to EDC and CC I'm not sure what style / position I'm going to prefer. I saw that Alien Gear has a shapeshifter "starter pack" that includes 4 holstering options. However this is only available for the 3.5" or 4.25". For the noon here, will the 4.25" version work with my gun?

·
Premium Member
720 Posts
EB33- I would think the 4.25” would work fine, but I haven’t used that brand before. One caution would be to buy a GOOD belt to hang your pistol and spare mag(s) on. At the risk of repeating myself too much, Kramer Leather makes good double thickness “dress” belts 1.25” or wider. I think in either cowhide or horsehide. I’ve been using their 1.25” dbl thickness horsehide belts for 30 yrs or so. They will support the weight of steel frame guns and reloads without rolling up or sagging. Quality products, but not inexpensive. I have found , generally speaking, that cheap in belts or holsters is a false economy. YMMV, Hank

·
Registered
4,266 Posts
Hope your holster search goes well. That said, please do yourself and everyone around you a favor and totally familiarize yourself with your new firearm. Do some serious range time, strip it, clean it, and repeat the process. Put several hundred rounds through the gun to learn it's (and your) limitations.
Welcome to the forum.

·
Premium Member
720 Posts
In total agreement with Scott. Get some classes beyond your basic CCW class , if that’s required. It’s useful to have some “ presentation “ practice/ coaching. The process of safely sweeping your cover garment, acquiring a firing grip, and draw your weapon without pointing your weapon at yourself or innocents in the vicinity. Hank

·
Premium Member
10,253 Posts
It's important to take training with someone that knows how to teach concealment and presentation technique.