Smith And Wesson Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to vintage revolvers -- can I please ask for your help and expertise?

Having grown up with polymer wonders, this is a different universe for me. But I must say, I am finding myself more and more attracted to vintage pieces.

After having looked around, I have concluded I want to start my collection with a S&W Model 10 made from the 1930s to the 1960s. I do not mind external wear, but it should be a good shooter in mechanically good condition. (I'm more interested in using it at the range than in looking at it).

How much should I expect to pay? How do I find something meeting my criteria? I have not seen anything at my local gun stores in Southern California. And gun shows in California don't offer much either. That's because even private party sales have to go through a licensed dealer, and we have a 10 day waiting period as well as a "only 1 handgun per 30 days" restriction. Unfortunately, all of these restrictions makes it unattractive for private sellers to even bother. Also: FFL dealers at California gun shows would rather use their exhibitions space for new models.

I've been playing with the thought of applying for a C&R license, but I'm still not clear what benefits I would have in California. (Handguns and private party transfers still have to go through a licensed gun retailer, even if they are older than 50 years or on the C&R list, so it's probably more trouble than it's worth).

I've seen some law enforcement surplus Model 10s offered online by Bud's in the $200 range, but I don't feel comfortable buying anything from a "sight unseen" bin and from an unknown year.

Are there collectors groups specifically for the Model 10?

Is there anything I should be mindful of? Any safety issues? Any of you guys want to sell anything? (I promise I would take *very* good care of it).

I'd appreciate any advice you could give me.