Smith And Wesson Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
255 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Might be going to look at a Mod. 19, shop owner says it is in good shape. The grips are black rubber. I am new to the Smith guns, did they come with the black rubber grips. This particular gun has a 4 inch barrel. I wonder if this model ever had a round butt with the 4-inch barrel. Thanks for the help with this. The price is supposed to be $375. I saw some police trade-ins for $475 but they looked as if they had seen better days mechanically.

Stinger

·
Administrator
8,129 Posts
Welcome to the forum, Stinger.

I'm not an expert on model 19s, and you don't mention which dash number you're looking at, but according to my references they did indeed install Uncle Mike's Combat grips (synthetic) starting in 1994.

In 1995-96, they deleted the square butt configuration and in 1996 they discontinued the 6" barrel.

The model 19 was discontinued in Nov 1999.

So, it looks to me that yes.. you could be looking at a 4" round butt model 19 with rubber grips.

Again, I'm not an expert on model 19s so if someone sees a mistake on my part please correct me.

·
Registered
669 Posts
Stinger
Smith did make a four inch Mod. 19 with the round butt. I beleive they were ordered for the State Department security people at one point. There is also the possibility that a 2 1/2" Mod. 19 had a four inch replacement bbl. change. I have a four inch Mod.19 with the round butt, but I haven't verified if it was from the State Dept. batch or a bbl. change. I liked it so I bought it.
Bob

·
Administrator
8,129 Posts
Bob,
You got my interest up so I looked in the SCSW3 a little further.

I see the model run you're referring to; it's Product code 100704.

I also see Product code 100705, which seems to list both SB and RB. Interesting.. I never noticed that before.