Smith And Wesson Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Premium Member
271 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I’ve been loading for a few decades now and always try to keep close to the recipes from the manufacturers. However, it seems that all the data calls lately for magnum primers in 357 cases regardless of the poEder. I’m planning to load some 158 gr rnfp bullets on top of a light load of 231 for cowboy action. Ive got several thousand standard small pistol primers but fewer than 500 magnum. Am I flirting with disaster or irregular firing results by going with standard, non-magnum, primers?

·
Registered
12,303 Posts
No, you should be fine. Magnum primers are needed for slow burning, hard to completely ignite powders that fill the case (16-20 grains), like Winchester 296. I use standard primers in my 130gr magnum loads with 7.7gr of Unique, but magnum primers in 158gr loads with H110, win 296 & Blue dot

·
Premium Member
10,432 Posts
The reloading manuals are not "recipe books" for making ammunition. They are documentation of controlled and measured experiments.

When you substitute components, you are in effect performing your own experiments. If you don't have measurement instrumentation, you're doing it blind. That's experimenting with 35,000 to 50,000 PSI pressures in the blind, in your hand.

The mix of components interact in very unpredictable ways. Magnum primers are hotter and tend to ignite powder in a different pattern than standard primers. When powder burns, it can generate multiple peak pressure points over time.

The case volume of a .357 case is also larger than a .38 special. This will change the timing and peak pressure between the instant of ignition, pushing the bullet out of the case, jumping the gap to the leade into the rifling, engaging and cutting the bullet lead or jacket into the rifling and the delay before it starts moving and increasing the volume.