Smith And Wesson Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

I recently joined this site after reading so many posts with good information in them. I am new to AR's and would like to get some guidance from the pros. I have been putting a list together of things I am going to be upgrading very soon to my new AR. Two of those items I am not 100% sure on what to purchase or if its a good idea or not.

1) Stock upgrade. I have been looking at a few but the MAGPUL MOE CARBINE MIL Spec model keeps showing up. Is this a good replacement for the factory model or should I look at other brands or higher ended MAGPUL's?

2) Swapping my charging handle out for one of the BCM gunfighter models. I am not positive if this is a good option or not as I have seen different opinions on it. Can someone give me their thoughts on this and if its worth spending the money on it?

Thanks for your time and help. If you have any upgrade suggestions please feel free to let me know.

·
Registered
23,222 Posts
Welcome to the forum. Why do you want to swap stocks & charging handle? I used mine as is for a while then decided the only thing I really needed was a red dot scope & a rail to mount a light for night use.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thank you for the fast post. I have done a lot of reading and asking friends who have AR15's. I have some extra funds to put towards my new AR. I purchased a Vortex Strikefire RED/Green for it already. I know you typically want to use the weapon as is then upgrade the items you feel would make it better. I figured, if I have some extra cash now to put towards these and other upgrades, I should do them now before that money disappears.

Thoughts?

·
Super Moderator
19,461 Posts