Smith And Wesson Forums banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
74 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I'm new here so I'll introduce myself and relate something that happened this week.

In 1986 I was a young police officer with a wife, three kids and all the expenses that go with it on a beat cop's salary. A couple older officers with connections talked Smith & Wesson and a police supply company into making commemorative revolvers available for us to buy, a Model 19 and/or a Model 66. For nearly six months, there was a pair of them, already engraved sitting on the counter of the Court Detail office where we checked in for court. I was working in a very active part of town so consequently I made a lot of court appearances. Every time I checked in I looked at those revolvers and daydreamed. I was carrying my city issue Model 10 and was so indigent I almost had to finance the Tyler T grip on it. I don't remember the price of the guns but it was absolutely out of the question given my family responsibilities.

When the guns came in I wished I had somehow found a way to get one but knew that I'd done the right thing. Years, then decades, went by; I always kept my ear to the ground but no one wanted to part with one of the only eighty revolvers to commemorate our department. Fast forward to the other day; I contacted one of the two guys I used to work with who arranged them way back when. We shot the breeze and then I asked if he knew of any for sale. Low and behold he was working with a fellow retired DPD officer that I had taught in the academy. He had bought the gun from a collector, unfired and in the box. Teaching at the academy was one of the greatest experiences of my life, I learned as much as they did. Consequently, I have a connection to all those officers who went though during my tenure.