Smith And Wesson Forums banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Seems as I get older I get dumber but curiousyer! Am a newbie here but have enjoyed lurking for quite some time. Thanks to all of the posters.
I'm wondering the difference between the K22 and the K22/32 kit gun. Is there a difference?

·
Premium Member
20,732 Posts
Welcome to the forums from the Wiregrass! Yes, there is a lot of difference. First, the .22/32 has no K because it is an I frame or after about 1961, a J frame. The K-22 is a .22 caliber, 6 or more shot revolver built on the mid-sized K frame. The .22/32 is a .22 caliber, 6 shot revolver built on the small sized, .32 caliber, I frame or J frame. The first .22/32 was built around 1911 and the first K-22 was built around 1931.

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks! It appears the 22/32 is more cherished as a collectible. Though as a valued shooter I presume the K22 will be as pretty and perform as well but be slightly heavier. Any reason not to convince the wife a K22 would be a great purchase at a more reasonable price?

·
Premium Member
20,732 Posts
The K-22 Masterpiece is as sought after a collectible as the .22/32 Kit Gun or a .22/32 Heavy Frame Target. In similar condition, they sell in the same ballpark with the K-22 selling for slightly more unless the .22/32 is an early Bekeart model. Personally, the K-22 is a better target revolver. It has better sights, balance and grips. However, it has a 6" barrel and the Kit guns have either 4" or 2" barrels and are easier to carry. YMMV.

·
Registered
306 Posts