Smith And Wesson Forums banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am a complete novice to handguns and just inherited a Model 10 snob-nose revolver (2" barrel) from my grandfather. He purchased the gun in 1967, took it to the range once, cleaned it, put it in a closet and never touched it again. I've attached 2 pics I took of the gun. I'm considering selling it to purchase an S&W M&P9c or Ruger SR9c. Can anyone tell me about the value and where I should sell it?

Any help would be much appreciated. Thanks!

2011-12-04_17-12-40_246.jpg Rotated.jpg

Attachments

·
Registered
8,899 Posts
First of all welcome01 to the Forum from Michigan.

Second that is one sweet example of the fine older Smith and Wesson revolvers. I would not venture to guess its value given the condition. I am sure there are some other members that can give you and honest value.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Also, if anyone has experience with the both the M&P9c and SR9c and can offer a preference, I'd appreciate it. Right now Gander Mountain has the Ruger on sale for $430 and it seems like too good a deal to pass on for my first gun (not including my grandpa's snubby).

·
Registered
8,899 Posts
While not the 9mm I do own both the M&P 40c and 40 pro series. I have not had any issues with either. If you are looking for a carry gun the M&P's will fit the bill.

·
Super Moderator
19,410 Posts
Right now a Model 10 in that condition is listed on gunbroker.com for $550.
I don't think it'll sell at that price, but that's what the seller is asking.
If I were you I'd type up an ad here on the classifieds section and it should sell pretty quickly.
Start around the $450-500 and be willing to dicker a little if you must. It won't be here for long. And you'll have your M&P9 really fast.
You might also want to consider a trade even up. It'll all balance out that way.