Smith And Wesson Forums banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all! I'm a newbie seeking info on an older 41. I have recently acquired a model 41 bearing serial number 207xx. On this site I learned it appears to be made in 1959. The previous owner xxxxxx (previous caretaker) was a life-long friend that has passed away so I know it is an older gun. It looks brand new though it has been fired. Upon looking online I have found no others like it. This one is stamped ".22 Short". From what information I found online it appears to be 1 of 1000 made for competition??? It does have the Olympic under-barrel weights, a seven inch barrel, several add-on muzzle compensators, and the factory looking grips have a palm swell that I do not see on any others I see online.
If I can get photos I will post ASAP. Is anyone familiar with this sub-model? Is it a limited supply addition to the 41 lineup? If I choose to, can it shoot .22lr with the addition of another barrel and mags? Value? (Though I would never sell) Any information that can be offered is greatly appreciated.
By the way This a great forum. I have found a lot of great reading already!!!

·
Registered
6,955 Posts
Hey Cooter,

Welcome to :bluelogo:

I'm thinking that may be a M-43?

Some of the better educated folk will be along....

Later, Mark

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks for the reply! She' marked "Model 41" just below the sr#. Time will tell..... The slide is aluminum (non-magnetic), is that the normal??? Seems like light material to withstand years of recoil expected in a target gun.

·
Registered
3,458 Posts
I was thinking the .22 short guns were Model 41-1 marked. They are very accurate and their value is about double a standard Model 41 if I remember correctly. Yes you would have to change the barrel and magazine to shoot .22LR.

·
Super Moderator
10,823 Posts