Smith And Wesson Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, Newbie here trying to learn how to use this forum and find out some info on a revolver I inherited.
I know you all like pictures but I am having trouble with upload speed right now so maybe later. The piece is a blued black, 6in barreled, walnut checkered grips, swing out cylinder 38 special with fixed sites. The serial number on butt, right grip and area on barrel above cylinder rod is 444***. There is no model #, just assembly numbers on yoke, etc.. This is a five screw with no butt accessories, the bluing is worn but no rust is present, although there does seem to be a small amount of pitting on the frame. The action is a double action. Mostly it looks and feels like a well used pistol with a few nicks and holster wear. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks in advance. If I left anything out, except pics, please ask and I will answer as best I know. CEW

·
Registered
2,541 Posts
Welcome aboard!
Sounds like an M&P - ancestor to the Model 10.
But that is just a best guess based on the description.
Pictures are really the essential data point for positive ID and any estimation of condition or value.

Reactions: jeepnut and Curt360

·
Registered
27,108 Posts
Hi and welcome to the forum. Pics would help with answering your questions and we'd love to see the older classic.;)

Reactions: jeepnut

·
Premium Member
19,958 Posts
Welcome to the forums from the Wiregrass! Your 38 M&P revolver was made in the early to mid 1920s. If it has a made in USA stamp on the right front of the frame, it was made after 1922. The grips should be Walnut checkered with a smooth round top. From the condition you describe, it's a shooter and would likely sell in the $400 range plus or minus around here.

Guy

·
Registered
19,899 Posts
Welcome to the forum from NE Georgia. Great S&W classic gun. Look forward to pics.

Reactions: Curt360

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·