Smith And Wesson Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a Smith and Wesson Model 36. I'm trying to figure out the year, and the value. i was tryin to sell it for 400, guy was even going to buy it, until this morning when he told me "they don't make stainless steel model 36, it was probably blued, than somebody cleared off the bluing and polished it."

makes sense, except I'm 99% sure it's nickel plated, I never once claimed it was stainless steel.

when I told him that it's nickel plated, he said that I need to do my research more, an that this gun is worth between 600-1200..I just don't see that being true. Is it? I figured I had a pretty good price up there, fair for me and the consumer. was I wrong? I appreciate the help everybody!

Attachments

·
Registered
4,329 Posts
Im no expert, but I been looking at a few on Gunbroker, and in decent shape range has been 350.00 to bout 500.00, tho I have seen some mint ones for alot more. Somebody who knows more than me will be along soon im sure. Mike.

·
Registered
23,200 Posts
Welcome to the friendly forum. There are no stainless model 36's, the stainless version was the model 60. Nickel finish 36's were produced by the factory & worth slightly more than blued. It looks like a nickel model 36 to me & is worth what you are asking.

·
Premium Member
18,752 Posts
welcome01 to the forums from the Wiregrass! Those target grips are not original to the gun. Take off the grips and give us the SN from the bottom of the grip frame. While you have the bare frame exposed, look on the bottom left side of the frame and see if there is an N stamped there. From what I see, it appears to be a nickel gun that could use some polishing with Mother's Mag or Flitz. I feel you have the gun priced appropriately.

S&W did have a SS version of the Chiefs Special. They called it the Model 60. Your gun is obviously stamped Model 36, so it is not SS.

(Ha! Injunbro beat me to it.)

Reactions: coiler666

·