Smith And Wesson Forums banner
1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
21,319 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Personally, I like to buy new cars/trucks, and now that I'm retired, keep them until they have 150k miles on them. I like having TOTALLY RELIABLE CARS......AND I'M NOT A MECHANIC. Being a Toyota fan, I tend to notice old Toyotas that are still being driven as 'everyday driver's'. I am amazed at the number of old Corollas, Camry's, pick-ups, and even RAV4's that are still being driven.

This is a big, liberal,college area with many young people in their 20's, and older people (like myself). I've had a Toyota 4x4 pick-up, and currently a 2015 RAV4 with 120k miles. It's still running fine and looks new. I am a fanatic about keeping my cars 'like new' as it gets older.....but I still take it off-roading on dirt "woods roads" in the Berkshires, around home and beyond.

In my travels, I see many old, original, early RVA4s, looking old, and in decent shape, from the 1990's. I know there is a mechanic on-line, (Scotty Kilmer) who is a fan of Toyotas, and keeps them for 250000 +miles, on a regular basis. He gives the impression that he never has trouble with them.....at all. He does replace tires, brakes, wipers, batteries, and change the oil on a regular basis. Is this really true??? Can I expect the same from my 2015 RAV4???

I know there must be some of you, that are fans of Toyotas too. I might keep my 2015 for the rest of my life (or at least a 5-10 more years) Can you give me some advice? Money is not a problem......NOW, but the Biden Administration, and the Progressive Dems., makes me wonder if they may just take my life's savings away, leaving me in a future position where I won't be able to afford a new RAV4, later in my life. Should I worry about this possiblility.........or am I OK......as far as my current ride goes?

·
Premium Member
855 Posts