Smith And Wesson Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
13,489 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have always heard you will probably lose them before you wear them out. That may be true unless you are shooting them in a revolver. Here is an article where the author took some brand new Starline brass and a portable reloading set-up to the range with his 1911 to find out how many times the case could be loaded. He takes measurements & photos along the way to show how the brass gets shorter over time
I have been reloading for almost 5 years. The first ammo I reloaded was 38 Special & 45acp. I don't recall having to discard any 45 brass yet.
How many times can you reload a .45 ACP case? - MassReloading

·
Registered
4,721 Posts
Interesting article. Thanks for posting jonesy814. I have several boxes of 45 brass that I loaded 18-20 times before I discarded them due to their being just beat up. Never heard about the case shortening though. I think going forward, I will discard at 12 to 15. That is about what I can get in my log that I keep for each box anyway.

·
Registered
13,489 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Interesting article. Thanks for posting jonesy814. I have several boxes of 45 brass that I loaded 18-20 times before I discarded them due to their being just beat up. Never heard about the case shortening though. I think going forward, I will discard at 12 to 15. That is about what I can get in my log that I keep for each box anyway.
He says he got to 30 before the primers started getting high, so your 18-20 times isn't unreasonable. What I load for my 625 is a fairly light load (230gr @less than 800fps), so the case should take less battering than his test examples. I remember someone on here saying that eventually the 45 brass would get shorter in the web (like the article) and get to where you cant load them in moon clips

·
Premium Member
2,943 Posts