Smith And Wesson Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Premium Member
794 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
One of the ladies I’m working with to improve her shooting skills needs a shotgun for defense around the farm. She has two bad shoulders, so the concept is to teach her to fire from the hip. I’m thinking in terms of a 20 ga semiautomatic. She has tried a youth model 1100 and that seems to suit her as far as ease of handling/ size. I see a number of 20 ga semis on GunBroker, but don’t have much confidence in the Turkish made semis or the Charles Daly guns. I have no experience with either piece. Suggestions? Hank

·
Registered
1,527 Posts
I’ll give it a look Jonesy, thanks! Hank
Be sure and get the youth model of whatever you get............or you'll have to cut the stock to shorten it.

·
Registered
12,445 Posts
I would not waste the time for firing from the hip - she isn't a Hollywood actor - look at a 410 semi like the 1100. With today's loads developed for The Judge and similar guns, 410 defensive and pest loads have never been better.

·
Registered
1,527 Posts
If she has bad shoulders, shooting with the buttstock tight under the arm can be very accurate with a little practice.

And at in-house ranges.......it will work just fine.

I'd not go smaller than a 20 gauge, though.........at close range you also want to end it with one shot if possible.

Reactions: jeepnut

·
Premium Member
794 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Thanks guys! That helps a lot. I’m thinking the youth model is the best fit for her, as verminator said. Also, thinking 2 3/4” 20 gauge with #3 buck is the smallest load. I’ll check the Mossberg. Seems to fit her budget the best. 1100 LT’s are bringing big money, even used.

·
Registered
12,445 Posts
#3 buck will have some serious recoil......you might want to start with real light target loads and work from there

·
Registered
17,473 Posts
I just traded for a Franchi 48-AL and it seems to be easy to carry and very well made. Trade value was 400.00.