Smith And Wesson Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Got this pistol years ago and just relocated it. Never shot it. Original finish was blue (99% gone). Barrel is 6 1/2 inch length. Six shooter. No additional numbers or identifiers other than that pictured. Any help appreciated. Would like a ballpark value if available.

Revolver Cylinder Metal Firearm Gun Revolver Trigger Gun barrel Firearm Gun Revolver Trigger Gun accessory

·
Registered
3,726 Posts
Welcome to the forum,
I'm not an expert but I have a book :D. That's an interesting old S&W you have there Sparks. The lack of a locking lung under the barrel threw me at first bur I see in 'the book" that the 1st model 32-20 Hand ejector was without. The barrel markings are correct for that model too. Apparently there were only 5311 of these 1st models made between 1898 and 1902 and they were numbered from 1 to 5311. As far as value goes I've no real idea but I'm sure others here will enlighten you in that respect. Nice old K frame S&W. Thanks for sharing.
John

·
Registered
6,748 Posts
I was beat to the draw! Two caveats, the 1898 typo and the possibility we are viewing a Spanish copy. Orbea Bros. in particular made some near counterfeits that prompted the bold "MADE IN THE U.S.A." and later reinforced the message in Spanish.

The condition would have to be precisely determined to set a value, I'd guess a few hundred, maybe? A Spanish copy near zip?

I can't push the magnification enough to satisfy myself. Also any other inscription e,g, patent info?

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Appreciate both ya'lls feedback. There are no other markings on the pistol. I might head over to the local bookstore and browse the books for other details. If it is an Orbea that makes it a keeper for me. I ride one of their road bikes! Thanks again

·
Registered
6,748 Posts