Smith And Wesson Forums banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I'm new to the S&W lifestyle...previous Ruger die-hard (not sure why, however).

Anyhow, I'm looking to add a S&W for home protection (also some carry in the wintertime).

Considering a used Police trade in Model 10 in .38Spl, and also a new 686 in .357Mag.

Have many other .38s and .357s, so caliber isn't really the issue...wondering between the 2 which you would buy. The Model 10 is $400 and the new 686 is about $680. I can do a lot with the $280 difference between them, but looking for other thoughts and opinions.

I admit this post is somewhat vague, probably because it's late, but I wanna make the purchase tomorrow and don't know yet what my decision is - hoping for your help!

Thanks much.
Andy

·
Registered
2,200 Posts
I got into stainless guns a few years ago just because the finish on them is a bit more durable than blue. However, I really don’t believe you can go wrong with either. The 686 is my choice. Good luck and let us know what you decide.

·
Registered
22,276 Posts
Definitely the 686. You can always get another model 10 at a later date. Good luck and keep us up to date regarding your decision. Oh...and welcome to the forum!:)

·
Registered
3,399 Posts
I agree will all the above responses, 686....

·
Premium Member
make mine 45 acp 😎
3,961 Posts
even in a snub, a 686 is a little heavy/big to carry.. people do, but then some folks carry n frames also..

a 686 is a great gun for home protection and for range work, holstered for outdoors,etc..
a 3" / 4" 686 would be an excellent choice for overall useage outside of a carry gun.

you dont mention the barrel length you are thinking about ? Some find the 6" L frames to be nose heavy..
i've traded out of all my 686's except for a 5" plus model which i find very well balanced and execptionally suited for the range and outdoors.