Smith And Wesson Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Super Moderator
19,368 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to the Knife Forum.
hipnp I'm new to hunting big game and am looking for an all around single knife for elk hunting if such a knife exists.
I need a knife for field dressing. I heard about what I think is called a swing blade knife, with a gutting end and a skinning end that flipped from one to the other.

It was on the high price end of the knives on display, so I would imagine it's design has merit. I've also seen scabbard kits that have both of these knives in them.

I've seen lots of "Gut Hook" knives and can purchase one from Buck at a pretty substantial discount, but it seems it will carve and possibly puncture the stomach pretty bad if I'm not extra careful.

Please give me your basic thoughts on what will make a good all arounder or if need be explain why I will need more than one knife.
Your input is appreciated

GQ-

·
Registered
2,377 Posts
Nothing wrong with your question, but it is similar to all the other questions i.e. 9MM vs .45acp, revolver or automatic. Now the reason I say this is your going to get alot of different answers to this.

So here's mine. I usually carry three knives/tools when in the field, I've never used a guthook, and don't really see a need. Those three are a fixed blade with at least a 6" blade with a good belly on it(Curved part of the blade). Second is a medium folder, prefer a lock back, and last is my Leatherman Wave. In with these is a good diamond stone, blades are going to get dull cutting hot meat. Now my fixed blade is a Cold Steel SRK, and the folder is the same makers large Voyager. The SRK is the primary, with the folder as backup and camp chores, and the Wave takes care of everything else. OH Yeah, don't forget a good hand axe!

·
Registered
2,677 Posts