Smith And Wesson Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Im just a beginner at reloading-but have read extensively and have reloaded a few hundred rounds of 357 mag. with a lee progressive 1000. Up until recently, I have used cci small pistol mag primers, but as you know primers are on the endangered species list. I was able to score some federal primers of the same type but I see that lee doesnt recommend the use of these. No big deal, I figured I would just buy a auto-prime and do them by hand but, again I read that lee does not want you to use federal even with the auto-prime. Obviously safety is a concern, but has anyone had good-bad experience with this set-up? Other ideas? thanks, wrightway.

·
Registered
419 Posts
I had just started priming some .308 cases(with a Lee Autoprimer tool) when the last 99 Federal primers went off in my face. Spent 60 minutes on the emergency room table having plastic and aluminum picked from my eyes. My vision hasn't been the same since. Listen to their advice and be careful.
Steve

·
Premium Member
1,648 Posts
As the owner of three of the Lee 1000s for years. I have used federal primers for competition use for years. They are the softest primer on the market.

Saying that! I have only blown up my presses about 3 times. Mostly my fault!

·
Registered
40 Posts
I am getting a lee 50th aniversary single stage press and kit, i was sold the small pisol primers for my .40 S&W loading. am i going to be ok, im not quite sure what is goin on???

G

·
Follow Lee's advice. They do not want you using Federal primers in their progressive for a reason. And even Dillon issues the same warning. That's good enough for me to only use Federal's in a single-stage press and only feed the primers one at a time.

·
Super Moderator
8,997 Posts
S.B. said: