Smith And Wesson Forums banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, I am new to this forum but need some help. I recently purchased a used S&W N frame revolver with 0.020 barrel gap and a lot of blow by. I am trying to find out how to decrease this gap without increasing barrel wobble. Thanks for any help. David.

·
Registered
5,204 Posts
First of all, welcome to the forum! Second, put your tools back in the toolbox. Third, call S&W and get a shipping label, etc. Reason why is simple. If your measurement of the BC gap is correct, the necessary correction will exceed your abilities unless you are really good w/ a lathe, thread cutting, setting headspace, etc. Sincerely. bruce.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks Bruce. I am a seasoned machinist and have access to milling machines and lathes, and am able to pick-up on existing threads to thread longer. My mechanical knowledge is sound, but my gun assembly knowledge is limited, like not knowing how to remove the barrel from the frame without warping the frame or destroying the firearm. I prefer to gain knowledge before jumping into the unknown without an informed game plan.

·
Premium Member
10,730 Posts
Welcome to the forum. Glad you're addressing this issue. Can you see if it's suffered flame cutting or some other wear?

Is the cylinder itself and it's yoke mount in good shape, or is there end shake or movement? You should start by getting some insight on the S&W revolver from Jerry Kuhnhausen's shop manual.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Thanks for the link and information. I do not see and flame cutting and not much wear or wobble. The cylinder is recessed and in great shape, I believe the gun was made between 1972- 1974, according to the s/n. I will definitely purchase a book on S&W revolvers.

·
Registered
2,182 Posts