Smith And Wesson Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
69 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I inquired at a range about buying one of their rental pistols, a 5906 with adjustable rear sight. The owner appears open to the idea, so if the price is right I might jump on it. I didn't get the chance to shoot it at the time since I saw it when I was leaving, but it will be nice to have the chance to rent it before committing to buying it. I already have a 4506-1 and a 4006TSW, so this would help round out the collection of full-size 3rd-Gens, with only the elusive 1006 remaining. Not sure yet how many mags are included.

Since this is a rental and appears to be well maintained, I'll have to ask a few questions and see if they know whether any internals have been replaced. Anything in particular I should be looking out for besides the usual wear?

·
Premium Member
1,672 Posts
I'm no expert 5906 was one of my first pistols. I guess look for beat up rails and rattle if slay spring and rivet is busted or missing. . Mine was rarely fired but was gunked up a little with oil and sprayed the action with gun scrubber. The only problem was weak mag spring and corroded safety plunger and spring . I bet being a rental will need a good cleaning , rentals were I shoot are filthy.

·
Registered
125 Posts
I carried a 5906 on the job for 15 years but they were only shot twice a year. Like was mentioned above, check out the rails and springs. Otherwise I'm not sure much else can go bad unless maybe the barrel can be shot out of these things.

·
Registered
69 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I have no idea of round count nor how often it gets rented nowadays, my guess is it spends most of its time in the case. Hopefully this Friday I'll have a chance to evaluate it more closely.

·
Banned
917 Posts
Bring a light, look at the bore.

IIRC, parts for most GEN IIs and GEN IIIs are getting harder to come by.

·
Premium Member
17,283 Posts