Smith And Wesson Forums banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Premium Member
935 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I bought this piece a year or so ago, so I have no knowledge of its care and feeding prior to my acquisition. Two chambers have very hard extraction issues. I put some 0000 steel wool on a brass brush and , by hand, tried to polish the two offending chambers. I was able to improve one, but the other didn’t get any better at all. Loaded all six chambers, fired them, cased the piece and headed to my gunsmith. One fired case miked out as oval shaped! I don’t remember the numbers, but the offending case was .008 out of round. No wonder it was tough to extract. Anybody ever run into this? Any ideas about what I can do? I suppose I could replace the cylinder, but my guy is good for “ normal” work, but doesn’t want to try to install a new cylinder, set timing, etc. Just doesn’t have the experience on revolvers, and doesn’t want to do a poor job. I respect him for that. For now, I have a 4” barreled 5 shooter. Hank

·
Registered
4,904 Posts
Don't have any easy or inexpensive guesses (cylinder replacement, cut the offending one and sleeve?), but I feel your pain. Looks like a really nice model 15 otherwise. I would be tempted to just try to live with a 5 shot revolver.

·
Registered
5,963 Posts
I would at least ask S&W if they can do anything.

·
Registered
4,325 Posts
I don't understand why an oval chamber would cause extraction issues. Tapered I could understand. You could try a chamber finishing reamer on all the charge holes before replacing any parts. I see a lot of Model 15 cylinders on ebay. You may get lucky and buy one that drops right in.

·
Premium Member
935 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Mac, I may just live with it. It’s not a carry piece. I marked the bad chamber with some fingernail polish. Series guy, I wasn’t clear. The cartridge case is flared towards the mouth, back to normal dimensions as you measure down towards the rim. Hank

·
Registered