Smith And Wesson Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i am about to buy a 625JM or 625 5" depending on what i can get. I was wondering could i shoot .45 super through the same gun without any mods or issues?

Has anyone on the boards done so?

Reason for this question is that I may then try and get the gun to Africa to handgun hunt medium plains game like pigs, impala, blesbok etc.

any advice is more than welcome

thanks so much,TM

·
Registered
65 Posts
I have fired many rounds of .45 Super in my 625 without any problems. I have decided that I don't want to risk damaging the gun, so I no longer do so.
I really don't think a 625, even loaded with .45 Super is really up to African game. I would go with .44 Magnum/Hot .45 Colt as an absolute minimum for that use. .454 Casull/.460/480Ruger or .500 S&W would be better.
That said, I have no experience with African game. So take my recommendations for what they are worth. They are worth exactly what you paid. :D

But I did stay at a Holiday Inn Express last night.

·
Registered
9,504 Posts
I think Lucky Derby has given some good advise. I have no experience with African game but a friend of mine made two hunts to Africa. During those hunts he shot the "Big Five" along with many other species.
He has shown me movies he made during those hunts in his private hunting lodge adorned with many of his African trophies as well as North American big game. The one point he drove home was this - He had never experienced anything like the vitality of African game in the North American game he had shot. I remember well his telling of taking his African Lion with a 300 Weatherby Magnum using solid point bullets. He tells of his guide saying the only reason the lion finally fell was from the weight of the number of bullets my friend put into it. . .Take this for what you think it is worth, good luck.

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks guys,