Smith And Wesson Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1,018 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well, I went and did it. After thinking it over seriously for the past couple of years I bought a NH turkey permit with my combo license. I have no experience hunting gobblers. Spring Tom season is underway right now, for the next few weeks. I have a Primos box call, I have some camo (but maybe not enough yet) and there are plenty of turkeys around everywhere. I don't really want an owl call or a crow either. I have close encounters with turkeys about half the time I am out woods walking, including Toms, so I expect Murphy to show up in style when I go out, and that I probably won't see a legal bird while my shotgun is in my hands. Has to be bearded. I'll be using a basic 870 12 gauge, one of those combo guns that comes with 2 barrels. I have a full choke insert that I can pop in to the barrel as well. If this becomes something I want to do every year, I will most likely soon buy a black powder double barrel with exposed hammers and use that instead.
Anyone want to offer a turkey novice some free advice? Should I quit while I am still sane or what? Muchos gracias amigos!

·
Registered
507 Posts
Try to roost a bird the evening before the morning hunt. Always helps to know the approximate location of a good bird. Also lets you know how to approach his position in the dark. Avoid crossing open areas. He WILL see you even though its dark. Fog is great cover if you get there late. Wait for him to gobble before you call since you don't want to use a locator or shock call (owl & crow). If he hasn't gobbled or flown down by decent light,call SOFTLY with a few tree yelps followed a few minutes later with a fly-down cackle. If he's a hot bird,he will answer. Answer him ONCE. He knows where you are now. PRECISELY where you are! If you're using a decoy,it should just be a matter of time. BE PATIENT! Avoid unnecessary movement. So much for the imaginary perfect hunt.