Smith And Wesson Forums banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
558 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Recently, I bought a nice 1956 vintage K22 Masterpiece. It came with a target hammer and a nice set of non relieved
walnut target stocks. Now, it does not fit into a standard K22 gold box. I have sent for a letter to confirm or deny the originality of the stocks. If in fact, the letter shows that they are factory, what kind of box were these shipped in? I have a 38 Combat Masterpiece that was factory shipped with target hammer and unrelieved walnut target stocks, and it was put in a gold box for a 6" K22, and relabeled.
I realize that very few K22's were shipped with target stocks. The new owners just took the magnas off, and chucked them for custom or Goodyear stocks. Same with most all "K" frame target revolvers.
Anyone know for sure what the target stocks equipped revolvers were shipped in? Thanks, Big Larry
Revolver Air gun Trigger Gun barrel Gun accessory

·
Registered
573 Posts
I can’t answer your question, but, can offer this.....

Nice....very nice! Did I mention....nice! Congratulations on a super firearm! memtb

Reactions: msharley

·
Premium Member
20,721 Posts
Big Larry, according to Roy Jinks the factory shipped special order target stocks on guns in whatever box they could find that fit before 1956. However, in 1955, the Blue shipping box was introduced that came in several depths to accommodate differing stocks. It is likely your gun shipped in 1956 in a 5 tab blue box with a white paste on label. The tabs are counted on the metal reinforcing strips on the box corners.

·
Registered
10,114 Posts
Hey BL,

Very fine revolver!! (y)

I've learned! Yes Sir! When ever I look at one of your threads (with the KOOLEST REVOLVERS) I jes cover the keyboard! :LOL:

Later, Mark

Reactions: 45acp230

·
Premium Member
Model 27 and Model 19 (early builds)
3,963 Posts