Smith And Wesson Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have had a bodyguard 38 special for about a month now, I have put about 400 rounds through it and I seem to get a light primer strike about 1 in 15 rounds most will fire with a second strike. I'm not sure if its the ammo or if the gun is defective. Most of the target ammo I have used has presented this issue including: Remington UMC, Remington wheelgun performance, PPU handgun line, and Geco. I have also shot a few hundred rounds of this ammo through my lever action without a single issue. I have not noticed the issue with higher end +p ammo but I have haven't shot very many rounds. The +p ammo that worked was Remington HTP (10 rounds), sig sauer elite performance (10 rounds), and Speer lawman (15 rounds).

Any insights would be appreciated, I'm new to revolvers.
Thanks

·
Premium Member
794 Posts
I would remove the stocks, spray brake/carb cleaner inside the frame , through the hammer opening , around the trigger slot, etc. Spray liberally, she if you get any debris, old lube, etc. Relube with Rem-Oil or similar lube. If that doesn’t help, you may have to remove the side plate. Search YouTube for a video showing the proper procedure. Hank.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I would remove the stocks, spray brake/carb cleaner inside the frame , through the hammer opening , around the trigger slot, etc. Spray liberally, she if you get any debris, old lube, etc. Relube with Rem-Oil or similar lube. If that doesn’t help, you may have to remove the side plate. Search YouTube for a video showing the proper procedure. Hank.
Thanks for the reply! Do you think its okay to do that with a revolver with an enclosed hammer?

·
Premium Member
794 Posts