Smith And Wesson Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
625 PC forcing cone finish

I'm fairly new to revolvers so please bear with me. I did a search and couldn't find anything with pictures to compare to.

I went to shoot my 625 PC today, I've had it for about a year and haven't shot it much. I wasn't pleased with the accuracy at 10 yards. I took it home and cleaned it and found a buildup on the top of the forcing cone area. I thought it was odd to only see it on the top but like I said, I'm new revolvers so don't know what to expect. I also noticed that the forcing cone was really rough with tooling marks. Is the roughness typical and is it also typical to see the buildup only on the top of the forcing cone instead of all around? Some of the fur you see is from the cleaning patch. Compared to my GP100 this looks really bad. I was shooting hand loaded polymer coated Blue Bullets but for my next time out I'll shoot factory ammo and see what happens.

I'm not saying any of this has to do with the accuracy, I always blame that on myself until proven otherwise.

Thanks for your expertise.

625 Forcing cone rotate.jpg

Attachments

·
Premium Member
10,778 Posts
This article, with a couple of pictures, may be of interest:

https://www.bullseyeforum.net/t5517-revolvers-barrels-forcing-cones

Photos should show this area completely round:

My most magnificent, majestic, S&W 629 .44 mag revolver... has flamecutting? - Calguns.net

and not with the irregularities seen in your forcing cone. It's not smoothly round, there look like flats in it. It's possibly chatter, or the rifling tooling dragged against one side as it exited.

I think that this one qualifies for a return to the mother ship... Let's see what others with more experience think.

·
Registered
13,425 Posts