Smith And Wesson Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter #1
Hey Guys,

I just came across this forum today and I hope you guys can help me. My uncle has a 44 Smith & Wesson Special CTG that he got from his uncle 60+ years ago. He does not know anything about it and is at the age that he would no idea on how to find that out. I am trying to help him and I hope you guys can help me! I'm not a pro at guns, but I will do my best to describe and post pictures. We would like to know the year it was made, if possible and what it's value may be worth, if possible. Pretty much any information you can give us would be greatly appreciated, in addition to the year and value.

Details: (check pics out too)
Nickle or stainless? Need help, not sure.
Grips appear to be pearl?
looks like cylinder to end of barrel is 5.5 inches
S/N 16660 (I think that's the right number)
Model 41343 (I think that's the right number)
Letter "A" above the model number in inner frame
Looks like "S2" below the model number. Either that or "Sg". Is this the inspector stamp? Also, what is the marking above it?
See pics for inscriptions on the barrel

I hope I gave all the information you guys need to help us out. Again, we would love to know everything about it that we can. Only thing we do know is that it came from his uncle and its a S&W. Sorry some of the pics are vertical. They are horizontal and easier to read on my computer, but for some reason when I post them here, it rotates them.

Premium Member
make mine 45 acp 馃槑
welcome y'all.. 44 hand ejector, 2nd model, early. 1915/18 or so.. very nice..

Registered
Post WWI, built on a surplus frame inspected by Springfield Armory. This a factory gun, just the frame was an over run or the military contract was cancelled, however you choose. Some would call it a .44 Military. I would get a butt swivel and pin to fill that hole. It's a standard size a Victory, Colt or M1917 will fit.

Registered
Discussion Starter #4